top of page
  • Writer's pictureDave Wyngard

Poetry Corner 1


The Attic


Dust swirling, a hypnotic dance surrounding, trapping, watching,

blurring our field of vision, the only two people who matter.

No matter how hard we try, little specks will always remain


with us. Age and time carry with them, shrouding, covering, protecting

from being tarnished, but even the best shields aren’t permanent.

Just like the little specks that show when a light is shone through.


Moaning floorboards being burdened with every weary step,

carrying the thoughts, the feelings locked away in the dark.

Unlock the door, throw away the key, take us out of darkness and


into the light. Naked for all to see, no more secrets. No more

fears, just us, this empty attic. A single stream of light from a

crack in the wall, breaking our secrets, revealing us to the world.


Empty drawers holding feelings that we suppress, ready to

burst out, ready to combust, not ready to let go. Not yet.

Each ascent into the attic unveils new feelings, new fights,


old memories. That need nurturing back to life. Back to us.

Silence reverberates throughout the fibres of the room,

passing through us, urging us to speak.


Dust never settles, new patterns, floating together or apart.

I ask the same of us. But one thing is certain,

The dust will never truly be gone.



Expectations


The winter solstice

A myriad of eternal excuses

A helpful hand up or

a pat on the back is often

as damaging as it is helpful

Turning hope into attack

The comfort of failure

The safety net of mediocrity

Crushing ambition into teeny tiny molecules, hidden under our very subconscious

I welcome this

The cost of coping

Versus the pain of carrying on

A simple question

That always hinders its host

Expectations

The imminent disappointment

A one-way street that is traversed by many that are more courageous than I

A solemn tear

A fist clenched

Even the stars above seem judgemental these days

365 days more to watch over me

Sun rise

I can never set





Overthinking


The whistle of a concerned creature, beckoning for my safety

Dazzling lights of a vengeful spirit

There is warmth in those blinding spectres

An answer to a question purely pondered

I reach out my hand

But it cowers

At the thought of knowing

The thought turns cold

It wilts away

But I stay determined

Bashfully wiping tears

As I stray into the abyss

The coldness of metal

Versus the warmth of knowing

I often wonder

If I will ever truly know

A true love’s kiss

From a cruel joke

We are only spectators

On this cold, harsh trip

A beckoning hand

That I slap with despair

Rapturous applause

A silent whimper




A New Day


I peep through the omniscient cracks of my blinds, exposing a vast horizon of spectacular colour. The colours swirl through the sleepy morning, a melodic awakening for those who maybe aren’t as ready to be awoken just yet. Awe crawls over my face, resting in my weary eyes; bringing me the strength to shake those comforting sheets from my soul’s slumbering, yet eternal guardian.


Something seems different about today.


The frost grasps at the divider between myself and this wonderful spectrum of colour and possibility, a little too eager to escape, my breath trying to meet this frost to no avail. I rest these lumbering arms across the windowsill, even the coldness of plastic isn’t enough to deter me this morning. Suddenly, the world seems much more mellow than I had allowed myself to believe.


A day previously assigned to melancholy

suddenly has much more purpose about it now.









13 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page