top of page
  • Writer's pictureDave Wyngard

My 10 Favourite Songs of All Time


Isn’t it incredible that we live in an age where we can access an entire and complete catalogue of music that spans across generations at the touch of a finger? Technology and music have advanced tremendously over the last few decades, to a point now where hearing new or old music is as easy as clicking a few buttons. We can now create vast playlists compiling of as much (or as little) variety in terms of what we choose to listen to. Incredible. This week, I thought I would share my ten favourite songs of all time with you, as well as an insight into personal connections or experiences I had with these tracks. As you will be able to deduce quite quickly, I definitely have a specific genre of music that I enjoy more than others, being Hip-Hop/Rap, so expect that to dominate this list quite heavily. That being said, this doesn’t mean that all of these songs are going to be fast paced with heavy beats. These are in no particular order as I would change my mind constantly over the placement of a few of these songs and this list would never get published. I would love to hear some of your favourite songs as well so feel free to put some of yours in the comments of the post, I am always fascinated as to how people discover the things they enjoy.


Kendrick Lamar ‘Sing About Me, I’m Dying Of Thirst’

Normally, any song that is over 12 minutes long is a bit of a turn off for me, as there is bound to be some point where I lose interest and switch off. But not this one. Technically two songs in one, but they blend so seamlessly that the 12 minutes pass by just like any other song. Kendrick Lamar is notorious for producing some of the most genius and incredible projects in music history, and this song is no exception. My 2ndfavourite Kendrick song (spoiler alert for another entry later), and an incredible tale of self-critique and he raps from the perspective of various artist that feature on the album that it appears on, Good Kid, M. A. A. D City. I remember going on a Kendrick binge in my room at university and being blown away by the quality and calibre that Lamar displays on every single project he graces with his presence. Absolutely one of the greatest artists to ever walk on this planet and I will be waiting with bated breath for his next project.


Travis Scott ft. Quavo ‘Oh My Dis Side’

Spoiler alert. This isn’t the last time that La Flame is going to be on this list. Probably my favourite artist although that could be easily changed depending on when you ask me to make this list, with like 3 other artists being in contention for that spot. A two-part song that has a lovely transition that lends itself very nicely into the latter track. The first track boasts a simple yet energetic beat that needs very little vocal work from Scott and Quavo in order to get you bouncing around the room, before transitioning quaintly into the slower and more refined second part of the track.


Kanye West ft. Kendrick Lamar ‘No More Parties in LA’

The most underrated Kanye album in his discography in my opinion, I love the vibe and style of this song. That distinct Compton flair is mastered by Kanye and Kendrick as they reflect on and critique Hollywood lifestyle and culture, along with fame and how it has shaped those around them. The first collaboration between the two and boy did it not disappoint. I find it crazy how relatable West seems to make the struggle of fitting into the conventions of Hollywood culture and how shallow it really is.


Kendrick Lamar ft. Jay Rock ‘Money Trees’

Jay Rock is one of the most underrated artists around right now, lending his talents towards my favourite Kendrick Lamar song of all time. Not to mention that it is on the same album as ‘Sing About Me, I’m Dying Of Thirst’ in ‘Good Kid, M. A. A. D City’. Anna Wise’s verse towards the backend of the track went viral on Tik Tok recently, bringing this already notorious track back into the limelight again, cementing it as one of Kendrick’s top tracks, the top one in my opinion. The song follows a story that flows throughout the entire album, of Kendrick and his experiences growing up in Compton, with this track in particular depicting the immortality of his uncle after being shot, with the iconic line ‘everybody gonna respect the shooter, but the one in front of the gun lives forever’.


Drake ft. Jay-Z ‘Pound Cake / Paris Morton Music 2’

(Just starting this off with the ‘secret fact’ that it is Ellie Goulding’s vocals that are sampled in the instrumental for this track, just before someone else points it out.) An incredible track with Drizzy and Hova at their absolute best. Another two-part track (yes, another one. Maybe I just like getting my value in listening to two songs in one long track) that features a lovely transition from one part of the track into the other. A lovely smooth and mellow instrumental that has Drake and Jay-Z proclaiming why they are two of the greatest rappers in this generation. This is another song I didn’t discover until a bit after it was released and then I fell in love with it. Another reason why I love this song is that it is on my favourite Drake album ‘Nothing was the Same’.


Travis Scott ft. Justin Bieber and Young Thug ‘Maria I’m Drunk’

I find it hilarious that on a track with Travis Scott and Young Thug, Justin Bieber is the one that puts in the best shift in this song. That’s not to diminish the impact of the others at all, that just shows how impressive everybody is on this track. The beat and general vibe of this song are so chilled and relaxed, just a tale of some guys who are drunk with their lady friends. Simples.


Lil Uzi Vert ft. Oh Wonder ‘The Way Life Goes’

One of the most beautiful and hypnotic instrumentals that I have ever heard, and Uzi rides it beautifully in this track. A hypnotic progression of synthesised beats that beautifully blends Uzi’s raps about his failed relationship and the soothing and comforting chorus that British Indie band Oh Wonder’s song Landslide provides to the chorus of this song. What I love about Uzi is how versatile of an artist he is. He can be hyping you up and then in the next minute he can be consoling and comforting. He really can’t be pinned down to a specific style or sound and can make any beat he lands on fly. There are a few contenders for my favourite Uzi track, such as ‘XO TOUR LIFE’, ‘Drankin and Smokin’, or even ’20 Min’. But I personally don’t think they top this one and how it makes me feel.


XXXTENTACION ft Trippie Redd ‘F**k Love’

An incredible artist taken too soon that for certain would have made it to the absolute top. This song proves the range that X had in his arsenal, with many just assuming him to be a mumble rapper that just rapped about women and vulgar activities including said women, but this song is incredible. In fact, this whole project of X’s ‘17’ album is one of my favourite albums of all time, a short and sweet project about the stresses of life and how lonely it can truly be.


Kanye West ft. Rick Ross ‘Devil in a New Dress’

The best Kanye song of all time. There, I’ve said it. Fight me. With the best guitar solo in rap. On one of the greatest albums of all time. A lot of bold claims for a masterpiece. But I assure you this isn’t hyperbole; this track talks the talk and walks the walk. A track I remember falling in love with and playing on repeat constantly every time I would walk to and from university. The Biggest in the Game has arguably the best feature verse on any song ever as every single word and rhyme flows naturally on and off beat and sounds both menacing and sincere at the same time. The blend of instruments make this sound like some epic fantasy theme as well, never underestimate the power of the guitar or piano.


Travis Scott ft. Kacy Hill ‘90210’

A song that for me is as close to perfection as you can possibly get. I know I said this list isn’t in a particular order, but this is absolutely my favourite song of all time. A mix of tranquil beats with one of the most euphoric beat switches in modern rap. A tale similar to Kanye’s ‘No More Parties in L.A.’, Travis raps about the conventional Californian lifestyle and struggling to adapt to it and keep sense of his own identity in the process. And that beat switch. Hypnotic, tranquil, perfect. Travis’ discography is that solid that I don’t even know which album is my favourite. This song is on Rodeo, but all of his other projects have their own ways into my heart and it’s impossible to choose just one. Kacy Hill lends her vocal talents to send me to euphoria in the early parts of the song, along with Scott’s vocalisation over this tranquil beat. I don’t think anything can come close to the emotions that this song makes me feel.


Honourable Mentions:


Kanye West ft. Pusha T ‘Runaway’

This was so close to being on the main list. In fact. If I wrote this list perhaps a few months later, I’m sure this would have made its way onto it. My only slight criticism and this is the tiniest and teeniest criticism is that if the song was maybe 2/3 minutes shorter, I think it would be perfect. Regardless of this, Kanye has made a whole generation go crazy over a single piano note and it is incredible. As soon as that first and single note plays, everyone knows immediately what to expect.


Baby Keem ‘16’

Probably the most recent song to make it onto this list, Baby Keem really has the potential to be a special artist at this current rate. I may be late into his fan club, only discovering his music after his collaborative project with real life cousin Kendrick Lamar in ‘Family Ties’ and ‘Range Brothers’, and I have fallen in love with his music ever since. A unique flow which is backed by some incredible beats and switches. This song is my favourite however as it tells a heart-breaking story of a pure relationship from different circumstances that appears to be crumbling in front of his very eyes. As a lot of entries on this list suggest, these slower and more passion filled songs are the key to my heart, and nine times out of ten I would take these over anything else. One of the catchiest hooks with some heartstring-pulling lyrics that’ll relate to anybody’s situation. Not all rap has to be about violence and intensity, sometimes a simple love story is all that is needed.


21 Savage, Offset and Metro Boomin ft. Travis Scott ‘Ghostface Killers’

Completely contradicting what I said in that last entry, sometimes you just want what 21 Savage has coined as ‘murder music’. Songs that make you feel like a true gangster and the Avengers-like line-up on display here do not disappoint in creating this type of music. Ghostface Killers is a mysterious, broody, and dark rap song that I absolutely love. Whenever you hear Metro Boomin’s notorious tagline, you know you’re going to be in for an absolute treat. Surprisingly, even though he is my favourite artist, Travis Scott’s verse is the weak point here, if it can even be called a weak point, because it is still chilling and cold as its own verse.



24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page