top of page
  • Writer's pictureDave Wyngard

5 Places I Would Like to Visit Before I Die


(Photo by Forbes)

 

With the world being incredibly stop-start at the moment, my outlook on travelling and exploring has drastically changed throughout the coronavirus pandemic. Previously, I didn’t really think about travelling that much, but now I am actively planning on where I can go and when realistically I will be able to go to these places. I am 23 years old now, and I am slightly concerned about these golden years are going to go by in a rapid manner, leading me to think that I should be planning these trips out sooner rather than later. Now I must warn you, this list is not going to be the most outrageous lists of unexplored havens that the world has to offer (Alex Garland’s ‘The Beach’ has very much put me off that idea thank you very much), and is pretty tourist heavy, but the heart wants what the heart wants. My thoughts behind visiting these places consists of the fact that there are certain activities and sights that I desperately want to experience live and direct in the flesh. As nice as the thought of sitting in a sun lounger by a pool in the blazing sun sounds, I’d much rather base my trips from completing activities, visiting different places, and moving around, which these places in particular offer.


New York City, USA

Now this place appeals to my evil consumerist side that I should be shunned for, I know. But nothing beats the allure of the bright lights of Time Square, the beauty of Central Park, and the crooning tunes on Broadway. My Mum and Dad have been TWICE without me, and I have never truly forgiven them for this utter betrayal, but I will have my revenge one day. I think I would have to plan this trip with incredible attention to detail, plotting each hour and minute so that I can get the absolute most out of this trip. I would love to see a show on Broadway, with a vast array of shows that would be incredible to see in the flesh as opposed to on the screen, with either Les Misérables or Hamilton being the shows of my choice. Another thing that I always keep in mind is that whenever I am scrolling through Tik Tok, I always somehow end up seeing the most jaw dropping deli sandwiches and food that seems exclusive to the fine dwellers of New York. Like Munich, sport is another big point that draws me here, as I would love to see either the New York Knicks, or the Brooklyn Nets play in the NBA. I have been to one NBA game before, watching the Orlando Magic beat the Chicago Bulls a couple of years ago and it was the highlight of my trip, (alongside seeing the opening of the Star Wars: Galaxy’s Edge at Disney World but I digress). The Americans make sporting events into a spectacle, with even the chunks between play being filled with audience interaction, competitions, and musical acts. And where better to experience these things than at either Maddison Square Garden or the Barclays Centre. Being one of the more expensive trips on this list, this trip may not materialize for a few years, along with the fact that long haul trips are the bane of my life, but this trip would be well and truly worth it. At least all of this gives me plenty of time to plan each intricate detail of this trip, I guess…


Rome, Italy

I blame the old Assassin’s Creed games for this entry. Whilst I will never be able to parachute off the top of the Pantheon and Colosseum like Ezio Auditore, a trip to Rome would be incredibly insightful into the Roman Empire and some of the most important and recognisable landmarks in the history of the world. From the Pantheon to the Trevi Fountain, the Italian landmarks are notorious for their beauty and legend. Landscapes as far as the eye can see, landmarks that will cause neck pain due to their sheer size, and shopping areas that will cause my arms to inevitably fall off. One of the most important factors is the fact that Italian food is some of the best food in the world, and where better to eat Italian food than, well, Italy. A short trip in a plane makes this a reasonable trip for me to consider, meaning that on the scale from likely to unlikely in the near future, this ranks as one of the highest possible trips that I’d be likely to make within the next few years.


Munich, Germany

This one has the potential to be the very first trip that I take by myself or at least with a couple of friends for a good time. Munich has a range of activities that appeal to me immensely, and with it being a short trip via plane this could be planned within the next year or so. One thing I would love to do would be to go and watch Bayern Munich play football, I would especially love to see a Champions League match. The atmosphere for a European night is unmatched, and with Bayern being one of Europe’s most elite teams, there will be no doubt of watching incredible and dominant attacking football. Bonus points if the tie is against someone of a similar stature of European pedigree. The next aspect of Munich that grasps my interest is the festivities of Oktoberfest, a celebration of beer and Bavarian culture that amasses around 6 million people a year towards the backend of September and the start of October, a mecca for drinkers if you will. The thought of nearly three weeks of people slamming pints all around Munich seems astonishing and absolutely incredible. On top of this, the clubbing scene in Germany is notoriously wild, so I would love to experience this in the flesh during my trip; I’m not looking forward to the hangovers in the following days however, but it will definitely be worth it.


Reykjavik, Iceland

Now I know that for many the thought of leaving England for somewhere perhaps even colder seems ludicrous but allow me to explain. Iceland is the land of the raging elements, with the beauty of nature being harnessed to provide power and unforgettable experiences. I have been fascinated by the thoughts of the hot springs in Iceland for a long time, a truly unique experience powered by geothermal energy from the country’s volcanic foundations. The contrast of the cold ice and the hot water, surrounded by some of the most stunning views you’ll probably ever see is more than enough to convince me to seek it out. The Blue Lagoon is Iceland’s most popular hot spring, with water temperatures around 38/39 degrees, with National Geographic labelling it as one of ‘The Top 25 Wonders of the World’, and a tourist hot spot (if you pardon the pun). But there are a multitude of alternatives to Blue Lagoon that would probably be a lot less crowded and a little more price friendly.



Tokyo, Japan

This is my mecca. My spirit seems destined to visit Japan one day. There is a magnitude of reasons that I believe that I absolutely must visit Tokyo before I die, whether it is to see Wrestle Kingdom, which is New Japan Pro Wrestling’s Wrestlemania if you will, or whether it is to go to the Pokémon official stores. The culture over there fascinates me, such a different style of living that I would love to try. But again, like New York City, this trip is incredibly driven by that evil consumerist side, I want to try and stuff a gigantic Pikachu into my suitcase coming back, or stacks and stacks of trading cards and other merchandise. I want to spend more than I would care to admit on the little capsule machines, or wander around Akihabara and shop until my heart is content. It turns out I’m a rather easy man to entertain, just put me in a big shopping centre and I will quite literally shop until I drop. Even things like ordering food from the tablets and using the conveyor belts is more than enough to keep me entertained and enjoying myself. I have recently tried to get into more anime and manga as well such as Attack on Titan, whilst previously I have much love for the Dragon Ball series and would love to see what sort of memorabilia that they have dedicated to these entertainment juggernauts. As well as all this urban fun that can be had in The Land of the Rising Sun, it cannot be overstated how beautiful of a place it is with its landmarks, both urban and rural. Shinjuku Gyoen National Garden, the broken temple of Asakusa, and the LED wonderland of Yomiuri Land stand out as some of the most beautiful places that tourists frequent, and I would be no exception. My aim is to take this trip before I turn 30, so I’ve still got a few years to plan this once-in-a-lifetime trip and make sure every single minute is accounted for in creating one of the most unforgettable experiences of a lifetime.


23 views0 comments

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page